Pleco Dying!

MollyFresh

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
My Pleco is like 2 or so inches long and I just got him like 1-2 weeks ago. I dont feed him anything because i didnt think i had too. He breaths and moves but he cant suck at all. He tries but can't latch onto anything and just floats at the surface. What do i do?

Questions that need to be asked are;

How mature is the tank.

What is the ammonia/nitrite/nitrate/Ph levels.

I am no expert but you def have to give something for the plec to consume. Either wafers or fresh veg.

I am sure someone with more knowledge will help out, but help them by answering the couple of questions i asked.

Nevermind he just died. I think he was sick. now im scared to get other fish. I might redo the whole tank, cycling and all... take back all my fish and get a bunch of plecos to redeem myself. Feed em everything. What u think? Im so mad.

I wouldn't assume an illness without any good reason, it;s entirely likely he could have died because he didn't get fed for 2 weeks. 2 Inches is pretty juvenile and it wouldn't take long for a baby plec to become weak and waste away.

the thing with plecs,they are vegetarian,and altho they live on the algae growth they also clean the crap out of your tank,but you still have to put things in for them to munch on,ie.....algae wafers,cucumber,lettuce leaves,half a tomatoe,anything as long as after a couple of hrs remove it

He probably died of starvation if you never fed him. How long did you have it for?

:( RIP pleco, but yes i am sure unless your tank glass was green then i guess he did die from starvation, and no i wouldn't recommend getting rid of your other fish unless you dont want them,

are you 100% sure they are eggs? if they are then do some research on how to keep pleco fry and that, and keep them :) then you have lots of plecos free :D or you can sell them on when they get older and get some money back

you got any pics you could post up?