Please Help

ray john

Reaction score
Hi I hope someone can answer some questions please. Ive got a 5ft by 2ft tank .24 small fishes ,mollies , platies,corys, rams, tetras. but the water keeps going green. I just did a test & the results are
p.h 8.5, ammonia 0.0 ,nitrite 0.0 , nitrate 25-50 . fish are happy just look ugly. I covered the tank for 2 days to stop any light getting into it about a month ago. It looked nice until last week but the water has started to go green again. what could be cause it? & how can i stop it ? Not sure the female ram liked having no light as when we covered it last time she looked very pale buy got her colour back quick.
It is a Rena tank thats got 4 5Ft tubes that are on for 9.5 hrs a day. Is it too much light for the tank?
Its a Rena filter & its got Phos-Zorb in it that is supposed to stop green water. What can we do ?

PH and nitrates seem high to me, but I am still very new to the hobby.

maybe a few water changes would help get those values down and reduce the green tint of the water until, as that linked article says, when the rotifers and copepods have returned in strength, the euglenoid population collapses under grazing pressures, and the "green water" mysteriously "goes away."

Anything above 050 nitrates want's fetching down with a water change.

Hi I hope someone can answer some questions please. Ive got a 5ft by 2ft tank .24 small fishes ,mollies , platies,corys, rams, tetras. but the water keeps going green. I just did a test & the results are
p.h 8.5, ammonia 0.0 ,nitrite 0.0 , nitrate 25-50 . fish are happy just look ugly. I covered the tank for 2 days to stop any light getting into it about a month ago. It looked nice until last week but the water has started to go green again. what could be cause it? & how can i stop it ? Not sure the female ram liked having no light as when we covered it last time she looked very pale buy got her colour back quick.