Please Help Newbie with First Fry

HeatherMW

Reaction score
Hi Guys !

THanks for helping me out, I'm very new to the tropical fish thing and am somewhat confused and concerned. I set up my 10 galloon heated aquarium about 4 weeks ago and have had no deaths since I started!! whooo hooooo. :cool:

I do a 50% water change with a gravel vacuum every week. I add in salt, cycle, and aqua plus to remove chlorine. So far so good! I let my tank run for about a week before adding in any fish. In one day I added 3 male platys and 2 female mollies. All have done extremely well. 3 days after I put them in, I realized my mollies were both pregnant and one was VERY close. I transfered mom to a breeding tank and she had 20 fry! All have survived (and are now 2 weeks old).

I'm thrilled that there have been no casualties at all! LOL

My question is....about two weeks ago I noticed my other mollie (not the one who gave birth) only had one fin on the right side....the left side has nothing!!! I don't know what happened to her, or even if she came home from the Pet Store like this? Not sure...I feel bad for her!! but she doesn't seem to care at all. Still swims great and eats lots. Do you think she will be OK??

Also, the mollie with only one fin is also pregnant and she is looking like she will drop any day now. I moved her to her own breeding tank last night and within an hour she had one still born fry...It didn't look quite fully developed. I went to bed and woke up this morning to another still born.

What is happening! She looks HUGE and is acting the same way that the other one did right before she gave birth.

This morning I let her out of the breeding tank back into the main tank and went to work, so not sure what I will come home to.

Did I stress her by moving her? She didn't act stressed out! Is there anything that I can do to help her? My water temp is currently between 78-80 degrees and I do have some salt in the tank. I don't want any more still borns...