Platy Babies

rusty

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi my platy has just given birth into my community tank i can see about 6 babies at the minute hiding under my filter box (juwel rio 125) built in filter should i put a breeding net around my box to keep my hungry fish at bay or just leave them to hide and venture out on there own accord also how should i feed them any help would be great im fairly new to all this but loving it all the same cheers russell

First off, congratulations on your first kids! :D

Putting them in a breeder net is probably your best bet, if you want to insure their survival. Leaving them in the tank is also an option, this is commonly called 'survival of the fittest'. Not as many babies tend to survive there, because you have the other fish that are trying to get a quick snack. There are pros and cons for each.

Breeder Net:

Pros:
  • You can keep a close eye on them, and watch them grow.
  • You can make sure they are getting fed.
  • You can regulate how much, and what they get fed.
  • You don't have to worry about the other fish eating them.
Cons:
  • They can only stay in there for a couple of weeks.
Survival of the fittest:

Pros:
  • You tend to get less fry, which can be useful, since Platies are fry machines.
  • You get only the strongest, fittest fry (And probably the luckiest ones too!).
  • You don't risk the chance of stunting or slowing their growth by keeping them in the breeder net too long.
Cons:
  • You can't make sure they are getting food. Most of them will pick off little bits of food from the gravel, plants...anywhere they can find it. But some people like to make sure they are getting fed.
  • You, of course, don't end up with as many fry.
There's also another option, the fry tank, which is the best of them all. Since you don't have one set-up, and it'd need to cycle before you could put any fry in there. It's something worth thinking about though, for the next batch. I wrote an article on that here.