Platies Dying On Me! Please Help!

jimmy78

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to the forums but I have been keeping fish successfully for about 3 years.

I have a 100 litre tropical tank with x12 Glowlight Tetras, 8 Platies that have bred like crazy giving a further 10 small adolescent fish.

Trouble started about 3 weeks ago - without warning two dead fish at the bottom of the tank - no symptoms. Water quality was 0 Ammomnia, 0 Nitrit, under 20ppm Nitrate......Ph 8.0....a few plants in tanks, lots of small snails....notices plants dying off and shedding leaves - some stuck under orniments which I mist - must have been rotting away there.

Also a bit of a green algae issue - on plants on side of ornaments and glass. Found out the girlfriend had been overfeeding way too much so this could be the cause.

So I did a 30% water change and everything seemed ok until 4 days ago - out of no-where 2 other platies in trouble - definate fin-rot.....1 had most of his dorsal fin eroded the other his tail fin ulcerated and slightly eroded. I immediately put these 2 in a hospital tank (20 L) with some salt and started them on a waterlife myxazin course. It is day 4 of this now.....yesterday one of them dies (it's symptoms worsened a lot - became sluggish and developed mouth rot also). The remaining fish is still very active and is eating water quality is excellent....but it's the last day of the treatment tomorrow and it hasn't worked - fin rot still there and ulcer still there on fin....

So what do I do now?

The waterlife treatment hasn't worked - shall I do a water change then start again? Or can you guys recommend something better? It's definitely fin-rot.....Shall I try get some antibiotics (human) and dose the tank with this?

Cheers,
Jim.

maybe that your tank is over stocked ok 100 literes divieded by 3.8 is 26 ok so you have 12 glowlights 8 platies plus their babyies the tank may be over stocked