Pictus Catfish

arobinson1984

Fish Gatherer
Reaction score
Has anybody got any experience with pictus catfish?

I'm interested in getting a group of 3 for my tank.

I'm usually quite good with stocking issues but the pictus catfish is a fish I have no experience with.

What is the minimum recommended tank size? I dont trust half the websites saying 20 gal.

Also, are they compatible with corys or will the attack the corys?

Any information from people with experience of the pictus catfish will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Andy

Hi Andy,

ive never owned one myself but these cats are very fast and active which could out compete the corys for food especially with 3... they are great looking cats and ive been tempted in the past but never actually got one due to my corys and the reason given about feeding!

i would go with 4 as they are pretty competitive when feeding and a larger number should spread the aggression. i personally wouldn't have any time of catfish except plecs with them as they do generally get most things that come down to the bottom. i would say a 3ft tank would do nicely.

Thanks for the reply guys,

The tank is a 33 US gal tank (the rio 125) and is about 32" in length.

Other bottom feeders in the tank are:

4 sterbai cory
1 BN Plec

Would I be ok with 2 pictus catfish? Are they ok in pairs? I didnt want too many as it would overload bottom of tank.

I normally feed flake food, catfish pellets, hikari algae wafers and a variety of different veg.

Andy

You think I would be ok with 3 liam?

I've never seen them before until last week when I found a new maidenhead aquatics near me, they stood out, they looked stunning.

Andy

I personally wouldn't keep them in less than 40 imperial gallons and I think they should be kept in trios as they are fairly sociable. They are highly active and do get quite big! Plus they are not compatible with small fish because they like to nom them.