Ph 8.2

rhostog

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I'm new to this, so please point me in the right direction if there's something already out there that answers my questions.

My tapwater has pH about 8.2, and it's pretty hard. I've had the tank nearly 3 weeks, and last weekend we got 4 small zebra danios - the shop water was about pH 7.2, so I added some pH adjuster to the tank before putting the fish in, bringing the tank water down to 7.5. In the 5 days since I added the fish, I've not changed the water, but the pH has drifted back up to 8. The danios seem happy enough, but I'm wondering if this means I'm going to be very limited in what I can keep? A lot of fish are recommended for acid or slightly alkaline water - will they tolerate my tapwater? Why isn't the pH adjuster having a lasting effect? I've read that bogwood can bring down pH - if I buy some and add it, will it cause a sudden change that will upset my danios?

Thanks for any advice!

75 litre tank
NH3 zero
NO2 zero
NO3 about 40mg/l
Filter is built into the lid, with carbon and ceramic beads.
Several plants and quite a bit of long stringy algae.

Playing about with pH is a tricky thing to do, and many members on here reccomend leaving it be and planning your stocking around the tap pH.

Or, the alternative is to re-fill your tank with bottled water, which should have a pH much nearer to 7

Hardness stabilizes pH. This explains the pH rebound, and why trying to adjust the pH of tapwater rarely works. Most all commonly sold aquarium fish will adapt to your pH, the only way to safely adjust the pH of water is to start with reverse osmosis water. This gives you a blank slate to start with, 0 hardness, pH 7.0.