Over feeding

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

CB008

Reaction score
As a newbie I fight the urge to overfeed my fish. The "books " say give them all that they can eat in 3 minutes etc. My question is that it is all very well if you are using flakes. I tend to use granules which sink pretty quickly so any guidance with getting it right would be greatly appreciated as I fear that I am still overfeeding

If you have bottom feeders in the tank then you have to worry a little less about that because they eat it off the bottom

It depends on the fish but I usually use 1 minute or 30 seconds. Where I don't have bottom feeders (and I do feed pellets) I assume anything that hits the bottom is too much

Fish are opportunity feeders meaning they will eat when the opportunity presents it self. If i fed my fish 5 times a day they would eat it. Fish can go days even a week or two without food. I feed my fish about every other day sometimes every 3 days. If your feeding them everyday chances are your fish are all getting plenty of food and there is no worry they are under fed. Overfeeding will lead to poor water quality and increased health problems far more than under feeding will.

Last edited:
I feed my fish every 2 days and no problem with it, overfeeding can cause a lot of problems in the future such as bloated belly.

When I feed extra heavy, especially with frozen foods, I just don’t feed my corries their sinking pellets.

I never feed my fish like that, because if you do, you will over feed them. I feed my betta 4 pellets a day and my zebra danio 1 pinch a day. I feed my shrimp, shrimp cucumbers and my pleco algae wafers every day. (Or every other day)