Oscar fish - just died, tank-mates OK?

Yamcannon

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm relatively new to the hobby of fish keeping in general, but I think I can safely say I'm addicted.

Unfortunately, my first post here is not a great one. I've encountered my first real fish keeping problem.

I have two Oscar tanks, one is 75 gallons housing two ~5-6 inch Oscars and the other is a 20 gallon.

The 20 gallon grow-out tank houses six juvenile Oscars. One of these Oscars had been not eating, his body got very slender, he was lethargic, hiding, his head looked larger and poop was long stringy white stool. From what I read on the forum pins here it is probably some sort of parasite. I did a water change and a thorough cleaning of the tank, and checked the water parameters which were good. I then ran out to the lfs this morning and picked up API General Cure and dosed the tank accordingly. 3 hours later the juvenile was dead. Just before he died his body began turning white and instead of tucking his fins in like he had been, he flared them out (just trying to give as many details as possible). I've had the juveniles for roughly 2 weeks. I'm quite sad about this as it marks my first fish keeping death, I feel like I should have acted sooner when I noticed he wasn't eating a week ago.

The second issue I have is I briefly had these 6 juveniles in my 75 gallon tank before I realized:
1. My two larger Oscars scared them grey
2. They were afraid to eat
(Which is why I started a 20 gallon grow-out tank)

So now I have the worry that this parasite will potentially affect my two larger Oscars and not just the juveniles in the 20 gallon that I just began dosing today with medicine. Do I also dose the 75 gallon tank?