Newbie Help/reassurance

chris1974

Reaction score
i filled my 90liter tropical tank yesterday..i used the start-up kit "NTLABS START-OK" from romsey world of water ,Aquasure to get rid of chlorine and add aloe vera (10ml per 50liters) !? then measured dose of Nitrocycle (20 drops per 10 liters) !? ditto measure dose of filterbugs (2 drops per 10 liters)!?

i have to add filter bugs (2 drops per 10 liters)!? everyday untill the little bottle runs out (EVEN once fish added) and was told i could add a couple of platys after 7 days of this!

sound right to you guys?? :/

cheers all from a total newb

ive just tested the nitrite's and still showing 0ppm (guy in shop said it will go up then come back down? )

Never heard of that kit, but basically you need to learn about cycling and the two different methods of doing it- fishless cycling and cycling with fish.
These articles will explain about avoiding and treating new tank syndrome and how to do a fishless cycle properly;

Cycling tanks, avoiding and treating new tank syndrome (very important article);

http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?showtopic=10099

Two different methods on how to do a fishless cycle;

http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?showtopic=113861

There is a wealth of articles pinned at the top of this section which may also be of much help to you in starting up your tank and choosing you first fish :) .
You will need to buy a test kit for ammonia, nitrItes, nitrAtes and PH; Platys can make good hardy and attractive fish but due to being livebearers, you need to be careful on how many males or females you get (you should have 2-3females per male, either than or an all-female group of at least 3 or an all-male group of at least 5) as they are very highly sexed fish and a single female can produce over 20 fry a month (most will be eaten though by the adults if not saved).

jeeeeeez this is complicated :-(