Newbie - cycling and refilling questions

Maz

Reaction score
Hi all - great board.

I am in England and have recently moved house and "adopted" a tank 36 x 12 x 18 inches. (28 gallons?)

History of tank - was VERY green with 3 fish, previous owner put in a chemical to clear water - and the fish died. By the time I moved in the water had cleared, though algae still on the glass.

Yesterday, before reading about fishless cycling etc - I scrubbed the tank, rocks, filters etc using tap water (no detergents etc).

Tank now refilled with untreated tap water, and to my surprise last night I noticed that 2 v small snails are in the tank (possibly more).

I am completely new to fish keeping - so if I may ask some questions.

1) Are snails good/ok - can I still do the adding ammonia thing with them in there?

2) Should I treat the water with any other chemicals?

3) When you do water changes how do you make the water ok before it goes in the tank. This is probably dumb but I cant fathom it. For a 50% water change I need 14 gallons of dechlorinated water, heated to the same temp as in the tank??? :dunno:

I hope to get some ammonia and a water testing kit tomorrow.

Have loads more questions re fish etc but will get through this bit first.

All help appreciated. :)

Maz

I've just completed the cycling of my first tank, but I used fish, but I can try to answer your questions. If anything I say is inaccurate I imagine/ hope to be corrected by more experienced fish keepers here.

1. Snails aren't a bad thing, but out of control they are a bad thing. Snails add to the community, help clear up debris, aeriate the gravel etc. However, they become a nuisance if there are too many, so they must be controlled. General good advice is not to add chemicals to the water, so snail eating fish are a good means of control, or picking them out by hand (they don't run too fast).