New Tank Setup By A Newbie

Ross101

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi,

I recently finished setting up my tank. It hasn't been used in 5 years as I've been at uni, so i'm very much a tank newbie.

Its a 180 litre Juwel vision. sorry for bad quality camera:

I got 3 fish over last few days after tank was setup for almost 2 weeks:

A pair of rainbow cichlids:

Male:

Female:

And a plec. sorry for image he doesn't sit still...

All seems good at the momment. The bog wood does turn the water abit yellow, it was terrible after one week so did a large water change since and seems better.

I'm no fish expert and don't know anything about plants and stuff but they are real, and i'm happy with the way it looks atm. I think i would like a nice background next but i'm not sure.

Not sure when I can add more fish? see how i goes for a few weeks do you think?

Very nice looking tank and fish. Nice plants as well, thought they were fake when I first saw them.

Now here comes some possibly bad news. When you say you "set up the tank two weeks ago" what exactly did you do? Have you ever heard of 'cycling' and establishing bacteria colonies in your filter before adding fish?

Have you tested your water for ammonia or nitrite levels?

Very nice looking tank and fish. Nice plants as well, thought they were fake when I first saw them.

Now here comes some possibly bad news. When you say you "set up the tank two weeks ago" what exactly did you do? Have you ever heard of 'cycling' and establishing bacteria colonies in your filter before adding fish?

Have you tested your water for ammonia or nitrite levels?

Too an extent yes. When i got the bog wood and such I got some established water from one of the chaps in the aquatics place. gave me a few bags from some tanks. I presumed after a while the bacteria would build over this time. Maybe I was wrong. I was going on what he said.

Nice tank :good: