New Tank Advice

Az3rix

Reaction score
Hello guys!

I am a beginner and I am about to be gifted a 55 gallon tank. So I was hoping you guys can give me some good tips or any advice for the types of fish, plants, filter, or anything really.

For the fish I have planned for this tank is:

10 Pygmy Corydoras
10 Albino Corydoras
10 Harlequin Rasboras
10 Celestial Pearl Danios
5 Amano Shrimps
5 Cherry Shrimps

I plan on adding the shrimp much later once the tank is established and it has some good grub for them before I start supplementing shrimp pellets for them.

For the filter, I plan on using a Tidal 75. The filter media is the basic media that comes with it and a few more additions like bio rings to support the beneficial bacteria more.
I'm already planning on adding the pre filter sponge on the intake and adding sponge in the surface skimmer it comes with to help make it a bit more shrimp friendly later on.

For the substrate, I am planning on using just pool filter sand (or possibly play sand) and using the Aquarium Co-op Root tabs and their liquid fertilizer to keep the plants fed and healthy. I rather have black pool filter sand for the aesthetic, and because I've read dark colors help fish but I haven't found any good black pool filter sand. Though, I am fine with the color of pool filter sand just because I want to make sure my Albino Corydoras won't get their bellies and barbels messed up.

When it comes to the plants I have the following:

Regular Plants:
Corkscrew Vallisneria (A Few)
Dwarf Sagittaria (A Few)
Red Root Floaters (Enough to Start)
Java Fern and Windelov Java Fern (A Few)
Red Dwarf Lily Bulb (2)
Anubis Nana (A Few)
Red Melon Sword (A Few)

Carpet Plants:
Dwarf Sagittaria or Java Moss. Not sure which one yet, any advice? (Enough to Start).

Since I am using the Tidal 75, I am planning on adding a float ring on top for the Red Root Floaters so it has less of a change of clogging up the skimmer.