New Setup 200L

justin85

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hi all,

So I’ve been planning and setting up my first Malawi Cichlid tank. It’s been a long process but I think im ready to fill it up and start my fishless cycle. I need some help and advice on the live stock, I'm thinking of stocking about 20 tops, I will be over stocking to keep the aggression as low as I can and I will have 2 filter. Here's a list of the cichlids I was thinking of getting so far:

3x Electric Yellow Cichlid
3x Red Peacock
3x Friebeg Cichlid
3x Marble Peacock

Like I said, I am new to keeping cichlids and I wanted to make sure the fish are right together and the amount is ok. Any advice is appreciated.

I will list the equipment and post a picture of the tank below:

Tank: 200L - 100 x 40 x 55 cm
Lighting: One Power-Glo Fluorescent Tube 30W T8,One Aqua-Glo Fluorescent Tube 30W T8 + LED moonlights.
Filteration: Eheim Professional 2 2028 External Filter + Eheim Professional 3 2075 External Filter.
Circulation Pump: Hydor Koralia Circulation and Wave Pump 900 l/h
Heater: Hydor ETH External Heater 200W + 250W internal heater (backup)
Substrate: Premium Silica Sand.
Background: 3D Rock background.

newtank.jpg

newsetupfilters.jpg

Hey mate i kept malawi my best fish ever. Just think bout ur tank size is a bit small for peacocks u no mate never mind 6 of them they grow bout 6in or bigger they will kill each other in a tank that small. Peacock shud b in a tank bout 400l at lest 5ft. Just keep mbuna in a tank that size

Thanks for your input Ryan! Could you sugest a few Mbuna that would be suitable for my tank ?

Yea mate there is 100s n 100s of mbunas to pick from u cud also hav 1 peacock in there. Wen u say Marble peacock do u mean ob peacock hav one of them if u want.

Wen they get big they can b very territorial thats y shudnt put many peacocks in a small tank.

All mbunas hav long scientific names. I name u sum of the ones i hav had i use the common names too

blue cobalt