New Planted Tank, Advice Appreciated

hybwolf

Reaction score
Just finished adding plants to my tank, this is my first attempt with a fully planted tank. Any advice would be appreciated.
Trying to do a low tech tank, not really interested in Co2 injection if I can do without.

20 gallon high tank.

Coralife 24" double T5 with 10,000k lamp and a 6700k lamp. 28 watts total. Fixture came with the 10k lamp along with a true actinic blue lamp. Was going to change both lamps but was advised by "That Fish Place" to just change the actinic blue with the 6700k.

Stock 15w strip light that came with hood. Has a Life-Glo 6700k T8 lamp

So I have the option of 28 watts(1.4 watts per gallon) or 43 watts (2.15 watts per gallon)?

Substrate is just fine gravel with Seachem Flourish Tabs

Adding API Leaf Zone, Flourish Trace, and FlorinAxis Carbon Source.

Now for the plants. There are not many lfs in my area and the ones that are here have a limited selection of live plants.

Petco- Echinodorus paniculatus " Bleheri"
Anubia attached to driftwood. Don't know exactly what type of Anubia
Java Fern that I attached to a piece of drift wood.
Amazon compacta

Went to "That Fish Place" today, was like a kid in a candy store!

(3)Crypt Wendtii green and bronze.
Anubias coffeefolia
Echinodorus schlueteri - Ozelot sword
Hygrophilia difformis- Wysteria
Rotala indica
Crypt balansae
(5)Vallisneria asiatica

Tank looks good atm, thinking I may have put too much in. Took a chance with the swords, I know they get big. Will wait and see how everything grows and will trim/weed some out when needed. Will post a pic tomorrow once tank clears up.
So any advice on whether I should run both fixtures? Also how many hours should I start with leaving the fixtures on?