New Member Hello

Stressed55

Reaction score
Hello to all, I am somewhat new to aquariums as when I was much younger I had a 150 gallon saltwater tank. I ended up with my current 30 gallon fresh water as a neighbor had a family emergency while moving so I was originally just planning on foster care. However they then decided they didn't want them and could I find someone, this was a few weeks later and I had already moved my livingroom around to accommodate the tank as well as investing in food, snacks a new filter new substrate and plants and 2 new fish as the original algae eater didn't survive. Anyhow so have been a fish parent since June and I am getting a bit frustrated as just as it seems like I have the tank stable I get up the next day to find something else wrong. Which is why I now have invested so much as well as time. I actually thought this would help my stress level which it does on occasion. When I first got the tank it had been shut off for a few days inadvertently by workmen so ended up loosing some of the originals. And then honestly I realize I probably didn't do enough research and trusted the pet store and ended up with fish I shouldn't have as well as another funeral as I was told I was getting 1 more female molly and 1more female guppy but instead was given 2 male mollies which chased the pregnant female until she died 2 days later. I took them back along with a chiclid that I was told would work in the tank but clearly doesn't. I have been learning a lot the hard way unfortunately but I just can't seem to get my water to stay ok for more than 7 to 10 days. And as I usually do water changes and necessary cleaning on Sundays or Mondays this past week it only made it 3 days before the tank got that light red glow again. I no longer trust the pet store but I can't figure out what I am doing wrong. I had a male sunrise guppy that was originally in the tank and found him dead this afternoon he seemed and looked fine this morning upon removing him a