New Here, New to the hobby.

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

hendo511

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the hobby. I have recently purchased a Fluval Flex 15 gallon. I have done nothing with it yet as I am still doing research. My brother in-law has two massive planted tanks, so I had to get into this hobby. I really have been researching for over two years. I know what I want, but what I want and can achieve, that's the problem. My ideas for the 15 gallon are as follows. Heavily planted with beginner plants low light requirements due to the LED on the flex. 10 Neon Tetras, 5 Harlequin Rasboras, 2 Bristlenose Plecos, and probably a few snails or shrimp. I also thought of the rosey red minnows. I have just ordered a freshwater test kit to check my parameters, will be updating soon. I know the fish I stated before will be fine, because my brother in-law had the same types of fish at one time. I will still check though. I already have the substrate, Fluval Eco, and some fine aquarium sand. I also have multiple rocks and some drift wood from the local fish store, water heater, thermometer, and extra filter media, like bio balls, filter floss, and ceramic. I am retiring soon so maintenance will not be an issue. I will have a ton of extra time. I will upgrade to a bigger tank in the future. Nice to meet all of you.

v/r
Hendo511

On the fish, I think the tank is too small for 1 bristlenose, let alone 2, with a footprint of 15 x 16 inches (41 x 39 cm). They need a tank at least 24 inches long, I'm afraid.

Neons and harlequins also really need a tank 24 inches long as well - these cubic tanks are hard to stock because they have the volume but not the swimming length of rectangular tanks. But as they are not fast swimming fish they may be OK but I'd get more harlequins - at least 10.

Hi & welcome to TFF... :hi:
Those tetras and rasboras need a tank that's broad with their swimming behavior.