New here from Georgia

o h culp

Reaction score
Hello all. I am a Registered Nurse x 42 yrs. (Soon to be retired) that is new to the hobby. I started last Fall into the hobby, went to a very reputable aquatic store and got a new complete setup aquarium. An Aqueon 10 gallon. I let it cycle did all my water test as I was supposed to and when I thought it was ready I went and got a lovely betta fish and a couple of snails. The nerite snails died almost immediately but the mystery snails hung in there.
Long story short I ended up doing everything wrong - over feeding my betta, putting in too many tank mates, & having two strong a flow in his filter output. He became very stressed, got every problem just about that a betta can get & passed away. This was extremely upsetting to my husband and I since our betta Flash was just delightful.