New Breeding Tank

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

SikkAquariums

Reaction score
Okay, so I currently have 4 different tanks, 80g, 37g, 10g, 4g. I want to combine them into my 80g cichlid tank(should be fine so far), and then set up my 37 as a breeder tank and planted. I don't need help with plants yet, i need to decide which fish I want to breed. Anyways, I love the Lake Tang. Cichlids, and heard a lot of good about breeding Frontosa burundi, but also heard that the cobra guppies would be nice too. So my question, would be what stocking options would be best? I do want to resell the fish obviously, but don't want ugly ones, so anything that looks nice and breeds relatively easily would be good. I am a novice to breeding and plants, so will do my research on that before starting, but NEED FISHIES!! Thank you!!

I wouldn't mind doing Cobra Guppies or Blue Frontosa Burundis.

Convict Cichlids. If your interested i have breed them and can answer some of your questions?

Guppies are certainly very easy to breed. Literally, if you throw some males and females in there together you'll have babies in no time, even a few that survive to adulthood. I have no idea about Frontosas, but judging by the price they have to be somewhat more diffcult.

[quote name='I'm the new guy' timestamp='1348790657' post='3423664']
Convict Cichlids. If your interested i have breed them and can answer some of your questions?
[/quote]

I'll look into the convicts some more, and start some on the guppies as well. My friend works at a petco, and told me some cobra guppies would be ideal, and turn a pretty penny for a side deal.

I just let nature take its course with guppies, but the thing with them is... unless you are being specific and breeding show quality, you won't make much money from them and you'll probably end up begging people to take them away.

[/quote]

How many would I comfortably fit in a 37 us gal tall?