New Breeding Tank

bally

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
hi there

i am new to tropical fish and have bought a Jewul 120, which is finally up and running well, took over 2 months but getting there.

Anyway i have several guppies and would like them to breed as i understand they do this alot.

i bougth a second hand aqua one 320 tank to house any offspring.

my question is, the under gravel filter in this tank, does it require any filteration material in it, like filter wool? i have looked on the net and as i understand it there is no filteration materals used at all, and the gravel acts as the filter is this correct?

Also to start this tank off, would it be quicker and safer to use the water from my current tank, as this will have already cycled will this make the new tank cycle quicker.

Phew, a lot i know but i appreciate the help

hi there

i am new to tropical fish and have bought a Jewul 120, which is finally up and running well, took over 2 months but getting there.

Anyway i have several guppies and would like them to breed as i understand they do this alot.

i bougth a second hand aqua one 320 tank to house any offspring.

my question is, the under gravel filter in this tank, does it require any filteration material in it, like filter wool? i have looked on the net and as i understand it there is no filteration materals used at all, and the gravel acts as the filter is this correct?

Also to start this tank off, would it be quicker and safer to use the water from my current tank, as this will have already cycled will this make the new tank cycle quicker.

Phew, a lot i know but i appreciate the help