New 20 Gal Set Up Cnvict Cichlids

Convict420

Reaction score
Hi,
i just picked up this hobby not too long ago, and i have now set up a 20 gal tank with an up to 30 gal filter and air pump. i just started cycling today and have a female convict (about 2 1/2 in.) . i have some questions.

1. how often should i feed? i have tropical flake food as well as some frozen brine shrimp [about to start a hatchery for brine shrimp] . and how often should i switch off from the two?

2. is 20 gal big enough for second or third convict?

3. prefer Male or Female personalities?

thanks for any advice

-chris

I think first that you need to read OM47's guide to fish in cycling wgich can be found HERE.
As for the rest i'm a bit new to help, sorry.

Yeah, you're going through a fish-in cycle, which means regular waterchanges, and I wouldnt add anymore fish until the tank is cycled (or do a fishless cycle). Check Dudley's link.

If the Con is 2"+, you could use a pellet for its staple diet. Something like Hikari pellets.

You won't be able to keep 3 cons as two will pair and bully the other, a male and female is best, but you will have to deal with tons of fry.

20 gallons maybe okay, think the recommended is 25g+, what are the dimensions, cichlids are more concerned with floor space.

All cichlids have personalities, males normally more aggressive. Both will be aggressive when breeding, which with cons happens very often.

Welcome to the forum Convict420.
That is Miss Wiggle's cycling thread Dudley. I just send people there.