Neon Tetras

mike190762

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Do neon tetras fall pregnant easily and if so, how can u tell? The bellies on some of mine seem to be growing. I'm new to all this any help would be appreciated.

i think you have fed them too much, i got tetras and they are bloody greedy fish and dunno when to stop eating rofl

thats what i did when i first got my fish tank and they looked like stomachs with fins lol

srsly they get this huge ( for their size) lump on they underbellies.

Mine disappeared after a while and i didnt see any babies so...

Do they fall pregnant easily? I wouldn't think so, since they're egglayers! :lol:
Either they're just very well fed, or the females are carrying eggs (which makes their stomaches appear larger)

Female neons tetras get egg laden all the time, its how you usually distinguish the males from the females as the females are more curvy than the males, but its a very slim chance they will ever produce fry as neon tetras are very hard to successfully breed and need lots of specific conditions to do so, so i wouldn't worry about having lots of unwanted fry.
If the neons are looking very fat though i would suspect they are being overfed or have dropsy...

I don't think they're over fed, if you read my list of fish on my profile. I only give the whole tank 1 cube of bloodworm a day.

There's only a few of them with swollen bellies, so I guess they must be egg laden.

My tetras are little gannets. Every day when I come home they are over at the corner of the tank nearest the door...

'Oh gooood you're home! We thought you'd never get here, feed us quick! We are STTTAAARVVVINNNG!'

I used to panic cos after feeding they would tend to swim with their heads down.. turns out from net surfing they have just been gulping their dry food too fast! They get HUUUUGE little tummies..!

BTW- I think my ich has gone. *crosses fingers* This weekend big water change and swappig the carbon in the filter...

mike190762 said: