My Two Oscars

tinyuk

Reaction score
Hi, I am a newbie to the site and have looked seriously into keeping Oscars. THe reason is that i went to my LFS and they had a few oscars in there, some reds, some tigers, and some albinos. I initially went for a Tiger Oscar and put it in my existing tank. Knowing it would chase the fish in there, i took the chance. As soon as they started to dissapear (which did take a few days) i went out and invested in an inbetween tank. I bought a 200l tank and decced it out and let the water settle.When i had sorted to buy the tank i put an extra filter in the original tank so that it would get the uptake of bacteria already existing in the tank. When i had eventually filled the new tank, i took the old filter and used it in the new tank. After a day, in went the Oscar, two plecs and a cray fish.
I went back to the LFS and had to buy another! So i now have two oscars!
Anyways, i put the second in the tank floating in his bag for an hour and the other oscar paid alot of attention to the new guest. After an hour i released the other oscar slowly, letting the tank water mix with his until he was swimming free. Welll, the fun then started. Vibrating tail fin, wafting each other with their tails and then the lip lock. Anyway, after an hour they stopped fighting and then the new fish was chasing the existing one everywhere. I monitored them and then had to go out. I came back an hour later and they are now swimming together in harmony! Strange but wonderful creatures!