My Tank and Fishes

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Alia

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hopefully I will now share with you some photos of my biggest tank and most of my fishes. Wish me luck! ;)

Well, it didn't work. :no: Maybe my file was too big. It said 377KB. Maybe someone can tell me if that is too large to upload here.

It needs to be a .jpg or a .gif to be uploaded I think perhaps you had a .bmp ? 377kb is quite large if you want to email it to me I can compress it a little: [email protected]

Thanks and look forward to seeing your tanks :)

Thanks, William. There are actually a number of pics, not just one, but maybe you can tell me -- I opened them in Microsoft Photo Editor and changed them from 16-bit truecolor to 256 color, which made the file sizes smaller, but the quality really suffers, too. Is there a way to make the file smaller without sacrificing so much of the quality? I'm pretty new to the whole digital photography thing, but I'd like to know how to do something as basic as that.

Okay, I was going to show you the before and the after, but this shot is huge! Why does it look so big when it is so much smaller when I look at it on my computer?

(Bear with me guys. I'll change the size as soon as William tells me how)

Alia,

Open it up in Micro$oft Photo Editor and select Image, Resize. Set the Units to Pixels, make sure that Allow Distortion is NOT ticked, and then put something like 600 in the Width box. The Height should adjust automatically.

It will then look very small, but that is because Photo Editor is likely to have scaled the image down - look on the menu bar and if you can see something other than 100% you can change this to see the image full size.