My New Powder Blue Dwarf Gourami Is Acting Strange..

Jerrek

Reaction score
I just bought Samson, my powder blue dwarf Gourami yesterday, and for the majority of the time he has been in the tank he has been doing this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjWQN2w0T5E

It has consisted of him swimming up and down around the back right corner of the aquarium. I can't figure out why he is doing it, or how to make him stop, but it is worrying me just a bit.

He is kind of swimming around the filter, but doesn't seem to be paying any attention to it. I am worried because I haven't seen him eat yet, the one time I did try to feed the fish he got scared and hid underneath a plant when I opened the lid to the tank.

For a few details:

I am completely new to this whole aquarium thing, and jumped in way before I knew anything. I bought the tank (10 US gallons) about two weeks ago and have had it running since. Before I knew I needed to let it establish a cycle without fish I decided to buy a few. The tank started off with an African Dwarf frog that I've had for about two weeks before the purchase of the tank, and then last Wednesday I purchased 2 red wag platties (1 male, 1 female) and two sunburst wag platties (both female).

Everything concerning those fish has been going very well. They are active and voracious eaters, and seem to get along with everything else in the tank.

Yesterday I decided to buy a Powder Blue Dwarf Gourami, and a blue mystery snail. The snail has been pretty mobile, much to my surprise, exploring all around the tank. Samson however has been very shy and timid. He spent the majority of his 'exploring around' time hiding behind the plastic plants in the back, near the bottom of the tank.

The platties have really paid no attention to him, and everyone seems to get along well, but a few hours since his introduction to the tank Samson started doing the up and down movements.