My New Marine Adventure - Rio 300

Steve1972

Reaction score
Hi All and firstly thanks for looking
I have been keeping Tropical fish for a couple of years now and have been itching to look into keeping a Marine aquarium for some time, I've done quite a bit of research and posted a few questions on the forum as part of it.
Anyway I thought I would start this new blog as I start to compile my inventory, any help and advice more than welcome please.
I am a plumber, working for myself, currently off work for 2 weeks after a shoulder op the other day !!! So plenty time to get my head round some designs and order stuff.
Really excited and can see Im going to get really frustrated over the coming weeks not been able to lift and start building but hey ho !

If I've done the uploading right this is my current Rio 240 Tropical aquarium that I am going to keep but in another part of the room on a different piece of furniture:
TropicalTankFeb20123.jpg

So I have now bought a Rio 300 that is going to be my new Marine tank:
EmptynewRio300.jpg

It is going to stand on this Oak piece of furniture, which will house the sump and bits:
Unittomodify.jpg

Unittomodify2.jpg

As you can see the unit has drawers. I am going to take out the drawers and convert the 6 drawer fronts into 2 cupboard doors, so the unit will look exactly the same from the outside. There should be plenty of room inside for the sump and everything else. I will need to cut out the middle section to fit the sump in and then reinforce the front with some 3"*2" but other than that it seems a pretty strong oak unit

I have bought this tank to use as a sump, it is 36"*15"*18" high so should be big enough, just need to get my head round designing the sump and will then post a design plan hopefully for comments:
Intendedsumptank.jpg

So in terms of equipment I have so far ordered the following:
Eheim compact 3000 return pump
Aquarium safe silicone, HA6 RTV
D-D Refractometer with auto temp control