Middle Feeders...freshwater

Monarch

Reaction score
I'm a newbie to this forum :blush: ...what a great forum...found it when I googled about my new African Butterfly fish...anyway, question....I need some advice for some fish that woule be TRUE middle feeders....i have several small cats, 1 very large sailfin pleco, 1 med.angel ( a little nippy, but not too bad ) 2 very sm.angels...my blue zebra danios and m glofish were dinner for the AFB...they were sold to me as middle feeders...NOT....and I was not informed that this AFB was a carnivore with a trapdoor mouth :dunno: ...I like different species and I like some color....as long as they are not aggressive and are pretty easy to manage...I don't have a lot of time with my work schedule to invest...not to mention the 4 retired racing greyhounds I have, too! Any suggestions are welcomed...I go Saturday...the retailer has agreed to work something out with me on my AFB "dinner."

African Butterfly's a definitely top feeders, but a predatory, loosely related to the arowana too.

Now your problem is finding a fish that pretty much stays in the bottom half of the tank, but if it does stray higher it won't be eaten by the African Butterfly. As interesting as they are I suggest keeping the AFB either as a species tank with medium sized bottom dwellers like catfish, plecs etc, or return the AFB if you can and get something more compatible with your angels.

What size tank have you got?

i would suggest some congo tetras fellar awsome looking fish and there middle feeders thats for sure ...peacefull fish and there quite large when you buy the from shops and they do grow much bigger to so there wont be any problems with them being on the dinner menu

African Butterfly's a definitely top feeders, but a predatory, loosely related to the arowana too.