Male Guppies In One Tank?

Lazerus

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Can a group of 5 or so males live in harmony together in a comunity tank with no females?

hmmm... im no expert... but I dont think they would mind eachother. All they care about is females. If you put in a single female into that, the female would prob be dead within 24 hours of being stressed by the males to breed. Post in the livebearer section and you will prob get a better answer than this.

Ox :good:

should be fine but if you want to add any females later on id say 10 minimum

yes you are normally fine with that, but you need to keep an eye out incase one of the guppies is overly aggressive, but it is done regularly so you should be ok! :good:

Thanks Ox!!!

Its funny because I did a 'search' before I posted this....and found nothing on it.

But as soon as I posted it there was loads of topics on it at the bottom of the page! Doh!! :lol:

So, yes, apparently males can live in peace with each other....but one snif of a female and the friendship is over!

Ok, thanks!

I realised anyway, that I probably can't have guppies in my tank, as I have cardinals....and I forgot that they tend to nip fish with fancy tails.

So thats the guppies ruled out....I thought I was onto a winner there. :shifty:

Onto Plan B.

Thanks Dave & Orangeshark too....

It depends on how big your group of cardinals are, if it is largeish the aggression is spread out between them so you should be fine

cardinals are that bad with nipping though

Well...I only have 6 Cardinals. But was thinking of getting about 3 or 4 more eventually.

I had a Betta in the tank and they left him alone....but then he was so much bigger than a guppy. (My poor betta is sleeping with the fishes now though :rip: )

I only have a 10gal tank. I'm finding it very hard to come up with stocking ideas.

what is your filteration like?

going by the inch per gallon rule you have 6 2" fish = 12" so your at your limit unless you've got decent filteration