Malawi

Mystil

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hello guys
Well I have bought a new tank (A rio 180 litre) and I am thinking of going malawi with it (havent really decided 100% yet).

Problem is I have NO experience what so ever with this type of set up. When I bought the tank the person I bought it off of had Malawis and they were lovely and really active and I want to ideally try something different.

Can you give me some pointers?

I have one 200 watt heater running in the tank.
A Eheim 2217 (already running and mature). Will i need another filter?

What type of substrate/Rocks? I have at the moment put in argos sand.

Whats the Ph needed? My water runs at 7.4. What temp do they need?

How easy are the fish/tank to maintain?

Could I put my bristlenose in with them? or is that a no no?

ANY HELP/GUIDANCE is appreciated.

Thanks
Liza

Hi,

I would stick with the more peaceful species, such as Labidochromis, Pseudotropheus and Iodotropheus. Avoid Melanochromis, Labeotropheus, Astatotilapia and certain Metriaclima species. Your tank should be able to hold around 20 fish.

Rift valley cichlids need a high pH level of around 8.0, this can be achieved by using a buffer, either in a powder or liquid form, or you could mix some coral sand with some standard silica or play sand, at a ratio of about 40:60.

The filtration sounds fine. As for decor this is down to personal taste but remember that these fish need rocks, so I would choose some large cobbles or slate, both of these are inert (in other words they won't alter the pH). Don't use lava rock as this is quite abrasive and could damage the fishes mouths as they pick algae of the rocks.

Since you have to overstock the tank to disperse the fishes aggression plenty of water changes are needed, I would carry out a 50% water change every week.