Low Ph Stalling Cycle?

dudleyd

Reaction score
This is my first go at posting so please be gentle with me.

I have an Interpet fixbox 64l tank and have been doing a fishless cycle for 23 days.

The problem i'm having is i'm not getting any ammonia drop at all so far. It is dosed up to 4ppm. Nitrite is 5.0 and nitrate is about 10. Temp is 28 degrees C. Added interpet filter start for the first week as instructed. Substrate and ornaments are all in, had murky water (in the tank) for about a week and has been crystal clear ever since. I'm using an API master test kit for testing. Water is treated with interpet tap safe to remove metals.

Having read some of the threads on this forum i think maybe my ph was a bit low at maybe just below 7. Went to lfs and got some API ph up.

So my questions are, what ph is optimal for the cycling process?

is anything else affecting the cycle?

Thanks in advance.

Hiya

Welcome to the forum! I'm no expert myself but I think generally the advise on pH is leave alone as it can do more harm than good trying to adjust it. Have you got any mature media from another tank? If you got some and popped it in your filter you should start getting results. There's a page in the beginners section with members who are all willing to donate media for cycling new tanks.

Welcome to the forum DudleyD.