Is He Beyond Help?

Stangin83

Reaction score
So I got a male betta from a wedding... they had them as center pieces on the tables and wanted the guests to take one. Bad idea, yes, let's not get into that. Anyway, my girlfriend really wanted one, so somehow I got stuck with it. After we broke up, I grew increasingly tired of it... I am a full time PhD student, work, and have a pet bird, so I gave it to a female friend who LOVED it. I was over at her place this weekend and I don't think she had changed the water in the bowl for over a month. It is in a huge brandy snifter - probably about 1.5 gallons. Over 80% of the water had evaporated, leaving barely anything to swim in, waste all over the bottom. And a rubber plant which I threw out.

Anyway, this little guy is very weak, lost almost all his color, can't flare up like he used to... she's been feeding him nothing but brine shrimp for the past I don't even know how long... probably 4 months. (I had him on Hikari Gold and gave her that with some brine shrimp for a treat.. and very little has been used out since the Hikari probably ran out 3-4 months ago I'm guessing.)

So basically, I have this fish again. I feel terrible for the little thing. I do not have a lot of free time on my hands to care for the fish... so basically I'm wondering would it be more humane to euthanize it, or with proper food will it regain strength and vitality?

I used to keep cichlids before, and I remember a thread where they were talking about a way to euthanize fish... to put a cup of water in a freezer until it ices over, then break the ice, drop the fish in, and freeze. It supposedly will immediately go into shock and die peacefully... I also don't know if this is true.