Im New To Salt

SharkWeek

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hello, iv been wanting to do a saltwater tank for a while so i have finally taken the plunge. Its a 10 gallon with 6 pounds of live rock in it already. I plan on using green star polyp, button polyp and some leather coral. The fish im planning on useing is a neon blue goby to start, a clown and some random shrip . if you could suggest any tips i would be very greatful.

Hey have you thought about adding a goby? There is also the orange lined Cardinal fish
Here are some details on the Orange Cardinal;
Min tank 10 gallons
Care level easy
Temper peaceful
Reef safe
Water : 72-78° F, dKH 8-12, pH 8.1-8.4, sg 1.020-1.025
Max size 2 ½”
How it helps a little.

I have been given some though to some goby, i really enjoy bottom dwelling fish. I have a freshwater almost dedicated to them. But yea im thinking a goby would be good. Do you have any tips of comments i could learn from?

I’ve never had a nano tank before so I’ll be the wrong guy to ask about that. The smallest SW tank I’ve had in the past was 110 gallons. Do you have a refract meter or a hydrometer? You well need one to set the salt content. A protean skimmer to remove excess phytoplankton or your water well turn green. I used to treat my water and add the salt and other stuff the night before my water changes so I would get a more accurate reading of salt levels. That’s all that comes to mind right now. I’d love to see some pics when you get it all set up.