Im going to be a father

robbie carrobie

Reaction score
Help me, Im a newbie, only got my aquarium two months ago and I am already a father. some details, aquarium is mixed tank 70 gallons i think 6foot*2foot*2foot, 2 bala sharks, 1 red tail shark, two black upside down catfish, two other spotted catfish, 4 silver dollars, 1 pleck, two other little sharks, two little fish i dont know what they are and the two that are going to be parents, oh help me i wish i knew what they were, they are bigger than the rest, one is a bright orange colour like a parrot fish but different, the other a dark green colour with some stripes, i know its not much to go on but please help, what do I do, i knew something was going down, they started to become protective of their side of the tank and now there are loads of little eggs on one of the logs and the proud parents are hovering over them, will they survive, what if they survive, how do i increase their chances of survival, if anything happens to them that i could prevent i will never forgive myself, so please all you experienced midwives out there help deliver these little ones with giving ol robbie some advice (a free cigar for every reply).

Ok I need some more info. Pictures would be great, if you can't then tell their shape. Are they cigar shaped like a pseudotropheus cichlid, flat and round, flat and long, ball shaped. If you can describe their shape in comparrisson to another fish that would be great.

Are they Africans? My experience with those babies are the mother is VERY protective of the babies... If she gets too paranoid about another fish trying to eat her babies, she will eat them herself- but in most cases they are good parents. Good luck... I hope they survive.