Ich on adopted solitary neon tetra? Still possible to introduce new tankmates?

Seisage

Fishaholic
Tank of the Month 🏆
Pet of the Month 🎖️
Reaction score
Hello! I'm relatively new to this hobby and have a question regarding disease and how that might affect introduction of new tankmates.

(Also posted this over on the C.A.R.E forum, but hopping onto this one in hopes of getting more eyes on my question, and I love forums anyway, so win-win!)

Now, before you say it, yes, I understand that adding new fish into a tank with one that's diseased is generally a bad idea. Here's the nuance: I adopted this neon (yes, it is just one) a couple days ago from an acquaintance who could no longer care for her fish. All the other neons have died over time for reasons that were not communicated to me, and never replaced. I was planning on getting two more neons tomorrow to at least make the current one a bit more comfortable. Unfortunately, I don't think I can have a full school yet since the tank is only 5.5 gal, although it is heavily planted and has been running for at least a few months. Working on upgrading to a 20gal as soon as possible, don't worry.