Howdy =)

Bambi

Reaction score
Hi all, :fun:

Im new to marine after keeping tropical for years. I recently decided the time was right to try my hand at a marine tank. Ive had the tank set up for 3 weeks now and Im taking it as slow as I can to take in as much information as I can

My setup at the moment consists of a Juwel 300 Rio tank, eheim canister filter, eheim wet/dry trickle and a red sea prizm skimmer. I filled the tank with RO water and added 25Kg of uncured live rock to help cycle. 3 weeks on and my ammonia and nitrate levels have dropped to 0 and my pH is spot on. Im going to leave it for another week as they have only just hit 0 before I make my next move.

Anyone have any opinions on the set up as it stands? I have had people say that wet/dry is not the way to go although my LFS said its a good idea when curing LR.

Also my next step is my sand, I was planning on going with LS but I have been told that the stuff your LFS recommends is more then likely not live! Is there a better place to purchase this in the UK, should I not go with LS or is the vacuum packed stuff from my local store ok??

After the sand has settled I planning my clean-up crew. I have an idea of what I want, it on my list at home so Ill post it later but again any advice would be welcomed. The one major thing Ive learnt since I started thinking about marine before christmas is you can never have too much advice! :)

hello

Sounds like you are off to a decent start, obviously done your homework, id definately get rid of the wet/dry skimmer, it will cause your nitrates to rise.

Im not sure what you have in your other external but you certaintly dont want any biogical media, it would be usefull to put in some carbon and some phosphate remover in.

Phosphate remover is definately something you want to look a right away, I know it sounds early but phosphate needs to be controlled from the start.