How many fish in a 28litre tank

Kaylab2021

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi there i am new to owning fish and bought a 28litre tank for my betta fish i bought male and a bumblebee catfish. I thought the betta looked lonely and was always looking for my catfish so i decided to put 2 harlequins and 3 neon tetras in the tank. This has been running for over a month now. I noticed the other day my catfish looks like it has dropsy and is just staying at the top of the tank. I dont have a medical or spare tank so i have been adding aquarium salt to the hole tank hoping it might help. I also did a 50% water change and will be doing 20% water changes daily until sorted. I also ordered some ramshorn nails i only put 1 in the tank so far. Has my tank got to many fish in it? Any help will help a lot

Hi.
I'll assume the dimensions are something like 41 x 38 x 26cm.

Different fish have different water requirements. Have you tested your water and do you know the hardness, ph, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels? If not, you need a test kit to give you this essential info.
Do you use a water conditioner when you do a water change?

When looking at what fish to place in a tank, normally it's good to match the fish to the water you're giving them to live in.
When you know what fish will thrive, you then start to look at the space you have in the tank.

In the olden times, before proper knowledge was more widespread, there used to be a 1" of fish per gallon rule. 48 litres equates to about 10 gallons, suggesting you could have a total of 10" of fish in the tank. Your tank is currently over-stocked.

Then, you have to take into account the individual needs of the fish.
To thrive and be happy, Neon Tetras need to be in a shoal of at least 8.
Harlequin also need to be in a shoal of at least 6.
I thought the betta looked lonely and was always looking for my catfish