How do you slow down cherry shrimps breeding ?

MaloK

><(((*>
Reaction score
Or I could say, help me fix my shrimp tank !!! While I study my stuff, I'm still a newbie regarding any kind of shrimp tank only keeping.

I have a 5 gallons aquarium with mixed cherry shrimps.

My problem is the following, they are breeding so much that I now have more than 300 and babies are coming out all the time and still multiple berried shrimps roaming at the moment.

In the beginning I tough that the adults could be a problem competing with the babies for food. But in reality it's the complete inverse that is happening. Very few adults are able to make it trough, because of all the babies that are literally stealing all the food from their mouth.

I had a total explosion of seed shrimps in the tank lately and I also fear they could have depleted the tank of oxygen at some point. But I always fished them out to near extinction. So once again I did.

At least a third of the cherry shrimps died and where consumed by their piers. I stopped feeding them for all that period. Also note that that the water parameter didn't flinch in any way the last 5 months.

Another observation, all the shrimps that died where the biggest and oldest. only 4 made it and and more than a hundred of teen and babies.

I have some doubt that something came in a water change because the timing was too good. And other problems showed up in other tanks. That's an unknown since the water change done on the shrimp tank was less than 25%,, but the other tank that had a much larger water change was wiped out. Of fear I replaced a large part of the shrimp tank water with demineralized bottled water that I fixed before.

But still the current conjecture in the shrimp tank let presage it is building another baby explosion in the next month.

I lowered the water temperature to 70° in the last month, but there is not much of impact on their activities..

Anything else I can check / do / not do ?