How Do Ya'll Do Large % W/c

zoogy

Reaction score
Okay, I've had just enuf spirits to let me ask the silly newbie questions.... I am an abosulte novice, so I hope you'll allow me some leeway to ask a few obvious questions. I read ya'll talking about doing big % water changes. 60%, 70%, even (OMG :blink: ) 90% water changes. My big question is... how is that even physically possible?

I admit that I fell into the lfs sales trap of believing that 10% weekly w/c during the cycle (fish-in cycling... didn't know any better before hand :sad: ) would be more than adequate and 20% w/c every 2 months after that would suffice. :lol: I have since given that idea up as a pipe dream and quite a good sales pitch. I now understand that much more frequent and extensive w/c are required. But I honestly don't understand how to physically do that? If I empty 90% of my water my filter will just be sucking air (and that just doesn't seem right), and my plants... well I can't even imagine it.

I only have a 5 gallon bucket (that's 18.9 liters :blush: for my dear friends in the UK) to w/c a 30 gallon tank. And even if I could find a bigger bucket, I wouldn't be able to lift it. Is four 15% water changes effectively the same as a 60% change, or do I lose too much in dimishing returns? (Come on - I know there are some math gods on this forum) Do I shut off my filter, and if so how long before I risk it drying out? Do I move my fish - they may only have an inch to swim in? What will happen to my plants? Heater on or off?

Please.. someone tell me step by painstaking step how to accomplish a large % w/c.

Well say you have like, iunno, 2ppm ammonia or nitrate or fruit juice in in the tank or whatever. Any size tank.
1. take out 15% of water, ppm is still 2 since both water and solute were removed in the same proportions
2. refill tank, ppm is now 1.7 since the new water diluted it by 15%
3. Remove 15% and refill again, ppm is at 1.445
4. Remove 15% and refill, ppm is 1.228