HOB Filter Questions

kanokoro

Reaction score
Hi!

Bit of context - I'm new to the hobby and have been looking into setting up a pretty basic planted tank with some neocardina (maybe some neon tetra too). Since this will be my first tank, I'm quite nervous about getting started.

I've been looking at the Tetra Starter Line 105ltr tank and it seems to be a pretty good option for me. I was recommended that I get an Aquaclear 50 with a prefilter sponge. My only concern is that I don't see how the lid of the tank - and thus the LEDs - would still be usable. Will I have to make a cutout in the lid for the filter? How would that work if the cutout would have to go through the LEDs?

I'm aware that sponge filters are an option, however the setup of the air pump and the noise it produces really puts me off the idea.

Thank you all for your help! I apologize if this is a rather silly question.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum kanokoro! Doesn't the starter kit come with a filter? If so, you have what you need as a starter kit. If not, first look at the back of the tanks cover (looks like it has a full hood) and see if there are cut-out perforations. Most of the full covers have areas that can be popped or easily cut out to accommodate HOB filters.

fluval sell small tanks with internal sumps which are dead silent
and if you hate the bubbling sound of tanks like I do...forget other types of filtration
hob can be silent after you adjust the outlet plate to water level but as water evaporates they're just as noisy or more than sponge filters
canisters have a humming sound to them somewhat like a mini-fridge
usually tank lids come with a section of it that can be broken off so you can install hob filters or small air pipes or whatever you want to put on there...

To be honest, Tetra Easy Crystal filters don't have the best media in there. I think this is the one which comes with the tank