Hi there! I am new and I have a question 😌

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

glossina

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I am new to the fish keeping world, I started 3 months ago with a 9G Fluval Flex tank. So far successfully cycled my tank which is planted with a few fresh water plants as recommended by the aquarium shop. Small area of thick sand pebbles at the front and the rest is covered with Tropica substrate. A few small rocks help to keep the plants in place and make it look nice.
I have a group of 7 ember tetra, two oto catfish and 2 amano shrimps. So far they all survived successfully, and used to swim around happily and eat quite well.
Water checks are performed every other day for ammonia and the usual dipstick for pH, nitrites and nitrates and the other parameters: I am happy to say that all seems balanced.

Last night and today my ember tetras are suddenly hiding near the plants, they seem very scared if I approach the tank. They used to approach me when I got near the tank but now they rush to hide. Also, they stay hidden and not eat when I am there - but they may eat when I am not around: the food is no longer there later in the day. Water quality is good as always, no sign of illness, no ich or anything else. I reduced light intensity to low for now, so they can be less stressed.

The Otos and the shrimp in the meantime are doing great, happy, eating and active.

My question is: should I worry about the tetras being silently sick? They appear physically normal, but they behave super shy all of a sudden!
Any advice? Much appreciated!!

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

If something bad got into the water it could cause the fish to become stressed and panic or become nervous.
If something touched the tank and startled the fish, that could cause them to become nervous as well.

Did you do anything to the tank yesterday (water change or something)?