Hi New To This....

antinator

Reaction score
hi im very new to keeping tropical fish and found out from my grandad about cycling using fish, which i have now found to be very hard and unhumane, i had 2 danios in my biorb 60l for about 3 weeks and they were fine, i then brought 3 mollies just as i thought it seems ok just to find now that 2 mollies and 1 danio have died over night, all my water tests are ok but havent got a ammonia test kit yet as i thought my 6 in 1 test stick had it on there, ive had at least 2 danios in my tank for a max time of 4 weeks now am i nearly there when it comes to cycling using fish? i would remove all the fish but there is no way of anybody taking them off me...........as i previously said im very new and would love a bit of help, much appciation thank you

Hi, You really need to get an ammonia/nitrite/nitrate test kit. If your ammonia level goes up just do water changes. A thirty to forty percent water change would be good but leave everything else alone. Your tank after four weeks is probably almost finished cycling. Even so, every time you add more fish there is going to be a heavier load of waste on the biological cycle. I've found that the best thing to use when starting a new tank and also when adding more fish is to use seachem stability. It works pretty well. Be careful, some water conditioners will actually kill the beneficial bacteria. Seachem prime is a good one to use.

Hi I don't actually have much disposable income so I can't spend much on it all, so what I've done with buying 2 danios and leaving them in the tank for 4 weeks is ok for cycling? I've done 25% water changes weekly and its only recntly its killing them off, details of my tank are: 60l biorb with java fern and moss balls