Hi Everyone

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Matt0durham

Reaction score
Hi

My names Matt, I live in the uk and I'm completely new to keeping fish!!!
I've really wanted fish since my dad had a huge one when I was younger.

So I'm 26 now and run my own business from home called cool-kids selling children's clothing but I also have a lot of free time as the majority of the work is self automated.
With all the free time I had I needed to keep myself busy and keeping fish inside has certainly done that!!

I'll be honest and say that I was like a few people at the start who wanted fish straight away!! I bought the aqua nano 40 (55 litre) tank as it came with everything that I would need such as filter, ceramic media, heater and water pump (I'm sure that has a different name).... I waited 3 days as I was told and then returned to my petstore and bought two neon tetra!! Unfortunately they lost all of their colour for some reason and died!! I felt so guilty that I needed to learn what I had done wrong.... So I scoured the web and found out about the nitrogen cycle and how important it is to cycle your fish tank!! I didn't know anyone that was keeping fish so I couldn't use any of their good bacteria and still being rather impatient ventured back to the pet store after reading about api QuickStart!! I also bought 6 golden barbs!! And I have the api liquid test kit!! Two weeks later brings us to today and my ammonia is 0 nitrite 0 and nitrate is 10ppm!!

It's nice to finally have a hobby I really enjoy and yes I now learning the value of patience!
So it's very nice to meet you all and no doubt will I need your help in the future!

Kind regards

Matt
I really should have checked the grammar in that post! I do apologise.

:hi: to the forum Matt.

Don't worry, your mistake is made by many beginners, including myself. The good thing is that you ended up doing your research.