Hi All

Angel Lady

Pet of the Month Leader
Reaction score
I cant think of the name of him but he looks like a pleco. With white spots on him. like poka dots. He has turned white all over I know it is fungus but the only thing is that I am not sure what to treat him with,. I have melafix and Maracyn. My question is which one to use. And the water readings are all 0 and the nitrates are 10 the ph is neutral..

Here is the fish and its name. I have five of these (Spotted Raphaael catffish)

post-38-1087464225.jpg

As far as i know it should be fine with meds, melafix though is more of a med aid rather than somthing to be relied on to cure a desease by itself, and maracyn i have no experience with but have heard it is quite a harsh med and im not sure if it does fungus either way- personally i would opt for Primafix, it treats internal and external bacterial infections plus fungal ones and i have found it to be a very successful for treating such issues, start with a 70% dose and work you way up to a full dose if the fish shows no signs of improvement within the first couple of days of treatment :thumbs:

I just happen to have some pimafix also. I am having some problems with two of my tanks. I have a illness in both of them. I have already lost two cichlids and now this one has got the same problems. I will move the catfish to the hospital tank now and do a big water change in the tank he was in. And hope for the best in the tank that the catfish was in.. As far as the cichlids goes I think it could be a parasite in that ank I am not for sure yet. They show no signs of illness and three days later they turn up dead. I dont know what is causing this. Just like I said the water is perfect and they look healthy as horses. I dont know whats up with them. Do you have any advice as to what this could be. And thanks for the advice on the catfish...