Help With Tiny Tank!

tibby25731

Fish Herder
Reaction score
My younger brother has decided to get some fish. He thought he could have a couple of goldfish in a tiny litte tank, it's 15x8x8, which I work out to be about 16 litres. Tiny! Is there anything that could live happily in there? It's a plastic tank so I think he will be looking to keep it unheated, but he is looking into a filter - what type of filter could be used on a tank so small? The tank has a lid but he would like to light it - is this possible?? He's only 14 and doesn't really have any cash, so my mum will pay out a small amount to start him up. Any suggestions regarding filter, and stocking? I was thinking maybe a few african dwarf frogs.... or I saw some lieelt blue lobsters the other day, do these stay small???

I'm no expert on tiny tanks, but I would think a betta(but may need a heater)?! What about a simple sponge filter or small Hang on Back filter?

If the lid is clear he should be able to set a small light on top(depending on how hot the light will get)

Crawdads (which was what the lobster prob was) don't stay small. Mine was about 6 inches when I gave it back to the pet store (I was tired of it catching and eating my fish).

I did think about a betta but he has only kept goldfish before (badly!) and I wouldn't like to recommend a betta just yet! I guess for a light, he could just point a desk lamp at it, as long as it wasn't a hologen bulb because these get very hot! I was thinking about white clouds but am not sure how many he could have in a tank so small......

Read the intro to bettas topic in the Bettas section. If your house is warm enough you might be able to get by without a heater for one of these. A little internal sponge filter or an AquaClear mini (or there are other tiny filters people have mentioned) would work along with the more frequent water changes that are advisable in a small tank.