Help With Cursed Aquarium

Nick-H

Reaction score
Well, heres an introduction. I have been keeping fish for about 2 years know, I consider myself an intermediate aquarist, and know the basics of keeping fish. I have a 45 gallon aquarium that I have kept many kinds of fish in over the course of time. Right now My aquarium is inhabited by: 2 giant danios, 1 Hujeta "Rocket" Gar (4''), 1 albino cory, 1 plecostomus, and a number of feeder fish are in the aquarium at most times. The layout of the aquarium is 3 feet long x 1 foot wide x 2 feet high. I have 3 undergravel filter units, as well as a power filter and have always kept my aquarium very clean. I am aware of the cycling of the aquarium as well as keeping the water conditions (temp, ph, salinity,etc.)I would like to get some new fish soon, but need to resolve some of these problems first.
The problems Im having are:
-Many of the fish I have had have developed bump-like or swollen lips. I have seen this on giant Danios, Rainbowfish, tetras, and a few others. I have done research already, but have not found anything that fits this description. (see pic)
-I cannot get any live plants to survive in my aquarium. Only the kind that grows from bulbs will live, and those only for a few months.
-Many of the catfish that I have kept have died right away. They swim around they aquarium constantly for days (sometimes in circles, sometimes not)and eventually just give out and die. This happened to several blue channel cats and silver tipped cats. plecostomus and corys are fine though.
-Many of my top level swimming fish (danios, gar) swim in the middle instead of the top. Im thinking this could be a lighting issue, I use a standard "grow-bulb", 18 inches I think.