Help!!!!neon tetra dying

Harshita Arora

Reaction score
Hi! I'm very new to fishkeeping. So I really need immediate help right now..I bought a 10gallons well planted tank, cycled it for two months and then got 6 neon tetras and 2 guppies.
They were all alive and healthy for two months but last week one of the tetras died suddenly. It was pale and had ragged fins. Then after that, the next day another tetra started showing the same torn fins. I did a 50 percent water change and put in a med for finrot but it also died yesterday. And so now one more neon tetra is doing the same. I have secluded him in a hospital tank with the same temperature.. But he is lying at the bottom and unable to swim..I need help please!!!

Attachments

• IMG-20190531-WA0000.jpg
    IMG-20190531-WA0000.jpg
    44.8 KB · Views: 217
  • IMG-20190531-WA0001.jpg
    IMG-20190531-WA0001.jpg
    60.1 KB · Views: 229
Hi and welcome to the forum :)

the swollen eyes would indicate a bacterial infection.

have you added anything to the tank in the last 2 weeks?
did you feed the fish something different just before this started?

You will probably need anti-biotics. You need to treat them for at least 1 week and up to 2 weeks. If there's no improvement after 1 week the medication is not working and you should try something else.

-----------------------
Do the following before you treat the fish.

Work out the volume of water in the tank.
measure length x width x height in cm.
divide by 1000.
= volume in litres.

When you measure the height, measure from the top of the substrate to the top of the water level.

There is a calculator/ converter in the "How To Tips" at the top of this page that will let you convert litres to gallons if you need it.

Remove carbon from the filter before treating or it will adsorb the medication and stop it working.