Help! Ammonia zero but Nitrite very high!

Berksou

Reaction score
Hi there,

I am struggling with very high Nitrite in my tank since a week now. I am doing daily 30-50% water changes but every time I measured it's around 5ppm or more (difficult to say whether it's 2ppm or 5ppm). The ammonia is perfectly at zero but the nitrate is barely above zero.

My water is very soft and I have 15 hardy fish in the tank. I won't bother you with my story on why I have this scenario but I am new to the hobby so.my apologize for this mess!

Now I am in the middle of the problem, I would like your advice. Should I just keep with the PWC's and wait for the second bacteria to grow? I am worried about my fish.

Keep up the daily water changes. What water conditioner are you using? And do you have a filter that needs the cartridge swapped out? You are in the middle of what is called a fish in cycle which can be lethal to the fish. Nitrite is VERY toxic to fish

Reduce the feeding to 2-3 times a week until the filter has recovered.

Small water changes don't do anything so increase the size of the water changes to 75% every day until the levels are 0ppm.
Make sure any new water is free of chlorine/ chloramine before it is added to the tank.

If you do a 25% water change each week you leave behind 75% of the bad stuff in the water.
If you do a 50% water change each week you leave behind 50% of the bad stuff in the water.
If you do a 75% water change each week you leave behind 25% of the bad stuff in the water.

Keep up the daily water changes. What water conditioner are you using? And do you have a filter that needs the cartridge swapped out? You are in the middle of what is called a fish in cycle which can be lethal to the fish. Nitrite is VERY toxic to fish
I am using API stress coat. I am thinking to buy Sea Prime?