Hello

lilsd

Reaction score
New to aquarium keeping and I’m already going down the rabbit hole! I am finding a TON of info online but sometimes it’s conflicting, so I’m hoping to get some advice from people more experienced than myself, I am very much learning the ropes as I go here!

I live in a tiny apartment in NYC and have set up a pretty heavily planted 10 gallon tank. It’s 9 weeks into cycling and water parameters are stable. My pH is pretty high (8-8.2) which is one thing I’d like to troubleshoot here.

Right now I have some ramshorn snails that hitchhiked in on my plants, and have recently added 10 neocaridina shrimp that seem to be doing well. I would like to add some fish too in the near future but not decided on which species. Lots to learn!

Attachments

• IMG_2806.jpeg
    IMG_2806.jpeg
    424 KB · Views: 33
Welcome. What is the pH of your tap water used to fill the 10 g tank? How about GH and KH also?

Thanks for the reply! I am just learning about kh and gh, just got a test kit today.

My tap water ph is a perfect 7, kh and gh both zero.

My tank water ph is right around 8 or slightly above. Kh today was 125ppm and gh was 161ppm.

I do have several large river rocks in my hard scape which might be contributing to the issue? I’ve also added a mesh bag with peat pellets to my filter, it’s been a couple days now and there’s been no significant change.

Welcome! You're off to a good start. I like the look of your tank. If your pH is rising, it probably means you have something--sand or rocks are the usual suspects--that is leaching minerals into the water. I've never had any luck with peat lowering the pH; your mileage may vary. It does add some nice tannins to the water (that yellow-brown tint you see in swamp water and forest streams), which many fish seem to appreciate.