Hello from California

Zombie_Kittie

Reaction score
Hello, so I'm fairly new to the hobby despite owning an aquarium in the late 80's/early 90's.
Boy! Did I learn the hard way. My thought process - "Oh an aquarium would be easy and simple after all I successfully had one as a teenager". Pfff my poor 8yr old had to wake up every morning to dying/dead fish. I HAD NO IDEA about cycling a tank and thought I only needed to have it set up and running at least 48hrs. 😢
We literally lost: 34 fish and 1 Mystery Snail!!
We did not lose them all at once - I kept going back and buying more because I thought for sure the shop I was going to had "bad fish".
Anyway I decided "Hmmm maybe I should actually do some research and see what may be up". THEN I seen the light.
I ended up having to do an in fish cycle since after all that I still had 1 Black Molly, 1 Panda Molly, 1 Dwarf Gourami, and 2 Bamboo Shrimp.
Boy did my Dwarf Gourami go through the worst of it - I thought for sure he was a gonner. One eye turned completely white and the other had a white spot on it, he lost his color, wouldn't eat, and stayed at the bottom of the tank only to come up once in a great while.
My Ammonia was at 4.0, Nitrites 5.0, pH 8 - I only found out once I finally bought a kit instead of relying on strips. All I can say is thank goodness for Seachem Prime, every other day 50% water changes, and adding live plants I FINALLY got everything perfect after about a month. Also thank goodness my remaining fish and shrimp endured and lived through it. My Dwarf Gourami is now the most handsome boy of the bunch - his eyes cleared up, his color brightened and now he loves to eat blood worms right from my fingers. (I'll post pics of him before and now.)
So this is my aquarium today:
40g
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates 20 ppm
pH 7
Temp 81.2
AquaClear 50 Filter + Air stone bubbler
Orlushy Submersible Aquarium Heater,100W