Hello! First Fish Tank :d

ChocolateCrunch

Reaction score
Hello.
This is my first time on the forums so...uh, hi! Anyway, my name is Dakota but just call my Choco :D I'm pretty new to fish keeping. Actually, my first aquarium was just purchased a two days ago and I'm going to add my first fish today-a betta!
My five gallon is ready to take on anything right now and a halfmoon betta would probably be best to start the cycle. Maybe even some ghost shrimp and something colorful once the tank is finished cycling? If you have any recomendations for tank mates, I would be glad to hear em. Anyway, probably will be postting some pics of my betta in his new tank later today so see ya then :lol:

Peace :p

before you get a fish please take a look at fishless cycling

Hi Choco, welcome to TFF :)

It is great that you are interested in fish keeping, but as walker said you do need to cycle your tank before you add your betta. Unfortunately adding the betta straight away will poison him and it is quite likely he will die.

Have a look here at how to fishless cycle:

http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?showtopic=113861

If you have any questions just ask ^^

Lol ^ :p

Hi Choco,

Have you read about cycling in the beginners section, I would definately recommend it. You are currenly in a fish-in situation so I would recommend getting a liquid test kit if you havn't already and test everyday which I believe is to be morning and evening. A lot of waterchanges will be required to keep this guy alive!

Good luck, Si.

edit: I got the impression you'd already added the fish, if you havn't I would recommend fishless cycling.

Welcome to TFF! Ghost shrimp are rather small, and may end up being a meal. For a 5 gallon a small group of pygmy corys would liven up the bottom. As far as cycling, if you are willing to do the large daily water changes required for a traditional cycle that is up to you.